Why Can’t I Remember?

When I was walking by the library, I caught a whiff of a very familiar scent. Although I could not find it’s source, I do believe I know why I remember it, I think. Yes! I do know why I remember it. When I was in one of the foster homes, I would smell the woman’s lotion. The woman, whom by the way I will not be telling her name, was very kind and gentle. She wore a lotion that smelled of pine and clover. I think it was clover, the scent was starting to fade. I liked this woman and I always will wonder what she is doing now to this very day. I was at least 3 years old when I was with her, I do believe. I know that she is not dead because my mom brought us to see her one day last fall. She was not home though for there was a note on her front door saying that she was out shopping.

photo-on-2-21-17-at-8-43-am

When I remember that smell it always brought me back to that woman. She was always in the back of my mind. I sometimes catch myself wondering what she is doing now. Does she remember me like I remember her? Has she forgotten all about me all together? I really hope that she has not for I remember her a clear as day. Maybe my mom will allow me to see her again. If I do see her again I will ask if she remembers me at all from me younger years along with her younger ones. Oh I do remember that one time when I was jumping on the bed at her house, I tripped over my foot and smacked my mouth on the windowsill. Ouch! That hurt a lot. I remember crying out in pain and seeing her rush into the room. Turns out I nocked my two front teeth deeply into my gums! Ohh it hurt terribly bad. I saw the blood and started to cry saying “I’m going to lose all of my blood!” I was 3 years old remember and did not understand that loosing all of my blood was not entirely accurate or possible just because my teeth and gums where bleeding.

images

After that incident I will assure you I no longer jumped near a windowsill while on a bed. I wonder if she remembers the time my brother poured bubbles in my eyes (accidentally I might add). She held my hand while trying to wash the soap from my eyes as I cried and cried.

imgres.jpg

One thought on “Why Can’t I Remember?”

  1. Megan, you have a great taste in telling your story. You do use a lot of words that should be taken out or replaced with another, but if you ever need help editing, let me know! Keep up the great work!

    -Ryahnna Norton

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

